2/3 book challenge

(And I do mean challenge!)

I have a lot of books on my shelf that I’ve been meaning to get to, and since I’ve already finished two of them since I began thinking about Mark’s 2/3 challenge I’m counting them in here too! Mini-reviews included in a lame attempt to win some brownie points.

Already read:
The Book Thief, Markus Zusak: While slow at first, I ended up adoring this book. Set in Nazi Germany and narrated by Death, the book centers around a young girl and the family that has taken her in. At times funny and, of course, quite sad, it’s a wonderful ride and an interesting perspective.
The Elegance of the Hedgehog, Muriel Barbery: I bought this book while in Seattle based on a reader review that was posted with it. The book lived up to the review and I devoured it on my flights home. Like the reviewer, I found myself getting unashamedly teary-eyed while on a flight surrounded by strangers. A secretly intelligent concierge and a young suicidal girl who lives in the building both have life-changing experiences when a new tenant from Japan arrives. A lame review, but I’m worried about giving up too much. I finished this book a couple of weeks ago and the characters still come to mind and I wonder how they’re doing.

To be read:
Jasper Fforde Something Rotten OR Shades of Grey
The Disappearing Spoon, Sam Kean
assorted Jim Butcher and Kathy Reichs
The Patron Saint of Liars, Ann Patchett
My Lucky Life In and Out of Show Business, Dick Van Dyke
What’s So Funny?, Donald Westlake
Life Beyond Measure, Sidney Poitier
When You Are Engulfed in Flames, David Sedaris
We Were Soldiers Once . . . And Young, Lt. Gen. Harold G. Moore & Joseph Galloway
little princes, Conor Grennan
Dungeon, Fire and Sword, John J. Robinson

There are other books that I’d like to list, but I think that I’m already over-challenging myself given how little time I generally dedicate to reading. Clearly that needs to change if I hope to achieve even 1/3 of the list. On my side: motivation!

~ by jendm on November 12, 2011.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

